Well done from all at Wanderers Cricket Club to our individual winners and league winning teams at the Central Gauteng Lions Annual Awards, which were presented virtually on the 27th May.

wanderers club Cricket News May 2020 3

• Kirstie Thomson – CGL Women’s Senior Provincial Batter of the Year
• James Warsop – CGL Premier League Batsman of the Year
• Traci Brest – CGL Women’s Cricketer of the Year
• The President’s B (captained by Frank Auger) and Saturday 3 (captained by Thabo Kalabatane) League Winning Teams

wanderers club Cricket News May 2020 4

James Warsop –2020 CGL Premier League Batsman of the Year

Central Gauteng Lions Provincial Squads for the 2020/21 Season
Congratulations to Wanderers Women’s CC members Kirstie Thomson, Bianca Booyjens, Marlene Grieb, Traci Brest and Oluhle Siyo for their selection to the Central Gauteng Lions Senior Provincial Women’s Squad for the 2020/21 season.

A great achievement for Wanderers women’s cricket that was re-established only 3 seasons ago.

wanderers club Cricket News May 2020 5

Provincial Representatives – (from L to R) Kirstie Thomson, Traci Brest and Marlene Grieb

Also, congratulations to Aya Myoli for his selection for the 2020/21 CGL Senior Provincial Men’s squad and to Sfiso Gumede and Cameron Rowe for their selection for the CGL Academy squad.

Central Gauteng Lions Board Elections
At the recent Annual General Meeting of the Central Gauteng Lions Cricket Board, Wanderers Club Committee Member Mike Sacher was elected as an Alternate Director. He will also chair the Finance and Disciplinary Committees.

The newly constituted Board have subsequently elected Anne Vilas as President – the first time a woman has held the position. All at the Wanderers Cricket Club wish her well for the future.

The world of cricket remains in lockdown and there has been no indication as to when professional and recreational cricket will be permitted to resume. In this respect, we await guidance from the Government, Cricket South Africa and CGL Board.

Keep safe, keep well from all at Wanderers Cricket Club.