With COVID-19, here are a few suggestions of apps to use during this lockdown period to bring some variation into what will probably become a dull routine. They include a video socialising app, fitness and online scrabble with friends. Some of the apps work offline but most will require an internet connection and data.

 

WildEarth’s safariLIVE

wanderers club Apps for Maintaining Sanity During the 21 Day Lockdown 1

Take your family on a wildlife safari with SafariLive. Safari vehicles, guides on foot, drones, balloons, rovers and remote cams are all searching for their favourite characters. Completely unscripted and unpredictable – this show is reality TV as it is supposed to be. Authentic and REAL.

SUNRISE SAFARI

Monday to Sunday

Central African Time (CAT): 06:00am – 09:00am

East African Time (EAT): 07:00am – 10:00am

Eastern Standard Time (EDT): 00:00pm – 03:00am

SUNSET SAFARI

Monday to Sunday

Central African Time (CAT): 15:30pm – 18:30pm

East African Time (EAT): 16:30pm – 19:30pm

Eastern Daylight Savings Time (EDT): 09:30am – 12:30pm

Learn more here

Fridge food

Fridge food

During lockdown sourcing items from your local grocer can be a bit tricky, the Fridge Food app gives you easy to find recipe ideas from items in your fridge. This app contains 13,000 recipes which can be saved for later. It is useful for finding recipes from items in your fridge to cook right now.

Houseparty

HouseParty app

Maintaining human connection is vital during the lockdown period. The app Houseparty has over 2million downloads and is one of the top downloaded apps in the US, Italian, Spanish and UK app stores. The app is considered more casual than video conferencing apps like Zoom and Skype and is becoming a more relaxed way of communicating with people sharing meals and drinks.

Cost: Free

 

Words With Friends

Words With Friends

Words With Friends is a great way to challenge your friends and brain with a game of scrabble! The app has a multiplayer option which allows you to connect with your family members or mates to not just show off your scrabble skills but also to assist your and their vocabulary. A great app to exercise your brain during the lockdown!

Cost: Free

 

Audible

Audible

Audible is a great app which includes a vast variety of audiobooks, documentaries, and scripted shows. There is a great selection of wellness books for inspiring biographies.

Cost: Monthly subscription-based model, but you can get your first book free.

 

7 Minute Workout

7 Minute Workout

Just 7 minutes a day is all it takes for a great workout. You may not be able to get Vitality points for this, but it offers a great workout in the comfort of your home.

 

Cost: Free

 

Tone It Up

Tone It Up

Tone It Up app is 100% free to new members for the next month and offers a variety of workouts, from barre to HIIT to weights. The challenges and workout programmes are perfect for all fitness levels.

Cost: Free for April

Forest App

Forest App

Whilst working from home, you may find your phone becomes a distraction, this app is great for remaining focused whilst working from home. The reward for staying focused and not breaking the timer is a small tree in your virtual garden.

Cost: R30

 

Udemy

Udemy

If you have the time, why not try to learn a new skill with Udemy. Courses include anything from web development, coding to public speaking and accredited project management courses.

Cost: Some courses are free but the majority are paid for.

 

Peak – Brain Games & Training

Peak – Brain Games & Training

This app pushes your cognitive skills and encourages you to train harder with fun, stimulating games and workouts. That will help develop your memory and other essential skills.

Cost: Free to download, but there is a charge for some games.